Customer Login


Founded in 2011, GrainViz’ mission is to maximize return on harvest for our producers through advanced sensor technology and data analytics. Our team has experience in sensor technology ranging from high-north weather stations to bio-medical technology, data analytics in retail, information security, and grain storage and handling.

GrainViz’ core intellectual property was invented locally at the University of Manitoba and GrainViz continues to work closely with academic partners to stay at the forefront of stored grain developments.

Executive Team

Dr. Paul Card, Ph.D.

President & CEO

Dr. Paul Card, Ph.D. brings 25 years of commercialization, data analytics and artificial intelligence experience to GrainViz. Paul is the former Innovation Manager for Canadian Tire, a $10 billion/year Canadian Retailer, and former Chief Technology Officer for Seccuris (now Hitachi), Canada’s largest Information Security organization.

Braden Pierce P.Eng.

COO & Head of Engineering

Braden Pierce P.Eng. formerly of MacDon industries, brings 10 years of new product development, manufacturing, and commercialization experience to GrainViz. His extensive background in Mechanical Engineering, quality assurance and large scale manufacturing ensures that unparalleled quality standards and scalability are part of every step in our design process.

Marco Hunstad

Chief Revenue Officer

Marco Hunstad brings close to 20 years of executive leadership. His focus has been on business transformation, commercialization, marketing, global market development and sales with extensive experience in the agriculture, retail, fintech, corporate finance and technology industries.

For the past 15 years, Marco has built a successful career based on profitable revenue growth on a global scale for the agriculture and SaaS/cloud based software industry.


Dr. Mohammad Asefi, Ph.D.

Director of Research

Derek Schroen

Director of Engineering

Annette Kroeker, P.Eng., PMP

Director of Project Management

Kurt Hildebrand, Ph.D.

Director of Research

Jaclyn Richard

Director of Customer Success

Board of Directors

Dr. Joe LoVetri, Ph.D. PEng.

Professor and Head Department Electrical and Computer Engineering University of Manitoba

Dr. Mark Evans, Ph.D.

Business Advisor

Dr. Ian Jeffrey, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor, Department Electrical and Computer Engineering University of Manitoba

Dr. Colin Gilmore, Ph.D.

Canada Research Chair In Applied Electromagnetic Inversion Assistant Professor, Electrical and Computer Engineering University of Manitoba